Have No Fear

How are you? Now that we have entered the “second wave” of CoVid-inspired lockdowns in many places, we are being told to stay home and wear masks all the time. We can’t eat out and have the usual year-end holiday parties, spend time with the elderly, hold the newborns. Gray winter days and long nights add to the burden many feel they are carrying.

No matter what you believe about this winter sickness season, we all agree that social isolation and uncertainty can cause emotional lows and loss of energy and hope. And then there is the continuing chaos caused by election process irregularities across the country and rumors of other fraud in high places and the possibilities of invasion and war. All the affirmations and aromatherapy can only help in a limited way.

For these reasons and more, I am simply posting what are known to most Christians as the 23rd and 91st Psalms. These translations are from the Orthodox Study Bible, and I really enjoy the simple, clear language found here. Quite honestly, I have nothing to add to them. They are my gift to you in the hope that you will find peace, joy, and comfort in their verses. May God bless and keep each one of you through the weeks and months ahead.

Psalm 22 (23) 

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness
for His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
to the end of my days.

 

Psalm 90 (91)

 He who dwells in the help of the Most High
shall lodge in the shelter of the God of heaven.
He shall say to the Lord, “You are my protector and my refuge,
my God; I will hope in Him.

For He shall free me from the snare of the hunters
and from every troubling word.”
He shall overshadow you with his shoulders,
and under his wings you shall hope;
His truth shall encircle you with a shield.
You shall not be frightened by fear at night,
nor from an arrow that flies by day,
nor by a thing moving in darkness,
nor by mishap and a demon at noonday.

A thousand shall fall at your side,
and ten thousand at your right hand,
yet it shall not come near you.
But you shall observe with your eyes
and you shall see the reward of sinners.

For You, O Lord, are my hope;
you made the Most High your refuge.
10 Evils shall not come near you,
and a scourge shall not draw near your dwelling.

11 For He shall command His angels concerning you
to keep you in all your ways.
12 In their hands they shall bear you up,
lest you strike your foot against a stone;
13 You shall tread upon the asp and the basilisk;
and you shall trample the lion and the dragon.

14 “For he hoped in me, and I will deliver him;
I will shelter him, because he knew My Name.
15 He shall call upon me, and I will hear him;
I am with him in affliction;
and I will deliver and glorify him.
16 With length of days I will satisfy him
and show him My salvation.”

Wellness Made Simple helps you to simplify the way YOU do well…for life!

2 thoughts on “Have No Fear”

  1. I needed it for myself and figured that I was probably not alone. I am truly grateful that it was helpful for you as well. Whenever I read your posts on bullying, I pray that both the bullies and the bullied would be healed by God’s love and safety.

    Like

Leave a comment